Developmental Disabilities

A developmental disability, according to the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act, is defined as a severe, chronic disability which:

  • originated at birth or during childhood
  • is expected to continue indefinitely, and
  • substantially restricts the individual’s functioning in several major life activities.

Developmental Disabilities are also defined to include individuals with an IQ of 70 and under. Examples of developmental disabilities include Autism, Behavior Disorders, Brain Injury, Cerebral Palsy, Down’s Syndrome, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Mental Retardation, and Spina Bifida.

Services offered by Morrison County Social Services

  • Information and Referral
  • Waiver Services
  • Functional Assessment
  • Individual Community Support Plan
  • Case Management
  • Monitoring delivery of services
  • Assisting in work settings
  • Integrating into the community
  • Coordinating services
  • Assisting individual with school
  • Making sure medical needs are being met
  • Ensuring individuals are receiving financial programming/assistance


Developmental Disability services are available to individuals from birth through adult life.  To apply for services - contact Morrison County Social Services.  Individuals will have an assessment completed either by an outside provider or by a county provider to determine if the individual is eligible for services.  Eligibility is determined by a cognitive test (IQ) and daily living skills assessments.